Leave the Fingerprints
Gracie Klumpp's Coffee Chats
The Push and Pull of Autism + ADHD
0:00
-45:57

The Push and Pull of Autism + ADHD

And embracing who you really are to find your way in so many parts of life: planners and organization, fashion, creative process, and even grief.

TW: I do briefly talk about grief and the anniversary of the loss of a loved one in this episode. If that’s too much for you right now, friend, you can skip from about 4:15 - 8:45.

I’m taking this week off work! I’ve scheduled this to post while Ethan and I are taking a staycation. As you listen to (or read) this episode, we’ll be exploring nature near our home and tackling house projects. I’ll be back next week to respond to any comments and continue the conversation. :)

In this episode:

  • The weirdness of grief across time (April is a tough month for me) (you can skip this section from 4:15-8:45 if it’s too much!)

  • Slowly finding a planning/planner/scheduling system that works for my brain’s sometimes very at-odds needs

  • Using “buckets” of time and a ton of physical notepad lists to help me remember what I want and need to do each week.

  • Learning to embrace my needs and express myself with dopamine dressing

  • Visually expressing my neurodivergent parts in a sort of self-portrait patchwork puppet (I’m planning to submit it to Neurokind)

Things I mention:

  • Neurokind Open Call deadline is April 31st! I’m working on a puppet to submit—want to submit something with me??

  • Last month’s Coffee Chat, “Not Even Jim Henson,” about how none of us really know what we’re doing—and that’s okay.

  • Tiimo - a neurodivergent-friendly scheduling app I’ve been using across all my devices to help me stick to those elaborate plans I made for myself yesterday. Just kidding! I’m learning to simplify the whole process. You can listen about it in the podcast (or read the transcription!).

  • I’m working on a post about drawing people from reference! If you have any questions, fears, thoughts, or things you want to explore about drawing people or working from reference, drop a comment below to let me know and I’ll make sure to talk about it in the post next month!

0 Comments
Leave the Fingerprints
Gracie Klumpp's Coffee Chats
An Autistic illustrator and storyteller ditching expectations, taking up space, and making marks unapologetically--or at least trying to.